Instructional Design And Program Development

Instructional design is the practice of designing, developing and delivering instructional resources and courses. The intention behind quality instructional design is to enhance learning experiences and present information in a manner that is rich, context appropriate and meaningful for students and learners.

The How to’s of Instructional Design (Videos):

  • Course Look and feel
  • Creating lesson plans 
  • Setting Course objectives or outcomes
  • Creating a rubric for your assignment
  • Different types of rubrics
  • Styles of design
  • Sage on the stage versus facilitation

Links to external resources or other institutions’ CTL websites 

The How to’s of Instructional Design (Videos):

  • ADDIE?
  • UDL?
  • Bloom’s Taxonomy?
  • Kirkpatrick’s levels of Evaluation?
  • Am I a sage on the stage or a facilitator in my classroom? 


Three general types of Knowledge/Skill sets:


The latter set of knowledge and skills “refers to a broad set of knowledge, skills, work habits, and character traits that are believed – by educators, school reformers, college professors, employers, and others – to be critically important to success in today’s world …”.

They include: 

1. Learning how to learn – self-direction, autonomy

2. Critical thinking – reasoning from evidence, proof, logic – becoming a critical consumer of information

3. Self-reflection – self-knowledge and self-awareness and the ability to surface, understand, and critically examine one’s own beliefs and assumptions

4. Sociocultural awareness – the sociological imagination, understanding social forces and their impact on daily life and one’s own thoughts, emotions and behavior

5. Working with pluralism and diversity – Intercultural understanding, understanding difference, negotiating the different needs and interests of individuals and groups

6.Team/Collaborative Learning and Problem Solving

7. Adaptability, flexibility and resilience – to deal with pluralism, rapid change and uncertainty in modern life

8. Digital literacy